From Every Nation


It always intrigued me when people who say

I do not see color OR

God doesn’t see color

I think I get their intention behind those words but I can’t help feel that they are often a bit misguided

I mean kids see color…

Children, who most would say have some level of innocence, can even see differences in other kids. I have heard other girls asked their mothers “why is her hair different?” when referring to my daughter or “mommy she’s darker than me”.

I don’t think the Bible is different in its recognition of differences within people. In fact Acts 13 shows the diversity within the Church leadership. In the book of Revelation the writer John says

After this I looked, and there was a vast multitude from every nation, tribe, people, and language, which no one could number, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were robed in white with palm branches in their hands. 10 And they cried out in a loud voice
Salvation belongs to our God, who is seated on the throne,and to the Lamb! (Rev. 7:9-10)

Seeing color or seeing differences in a person isn’t evil. In fact I believe many people have accepted the lie that we should not focus on what makes us different because:

we are all the same deep down inside OR what makes us different only divides us… etc.

However at the same time our culture fights for its unique, individualistic identity. We tell people to not be like everyone else but be your own self.

So don’t be different but be… different? Be the kind of different that we accept.

Anyway this is all a matter of perspective. I believe that you can appreciate another persons cultural background or ethnic identity without letting it divide you. In fact for Christians you can have a greater sense of how the Body of Christ functions when you realized that not everyone looks like you or thinks like you.

Remember for Christian we are called to be “different” from the culture in which we live while being like the One for who we live.

I'd love to read your thoughts

