Remembering what was given


October 13th 2014

That was the day that Edith Hicks Adams passed away. My nana.

It has now been one year since then. Hard to grasp. There are still days I drive home from work and I look to call her just to chat. Often times she was my travel buddy via phone.

I began to think about her life and what she left behind. It isn’t completely uncommon that when people die they leave an inheritance. Something that is transferred from one person/generation to another. It could have monetary or sentimental value.

There was a wealth of knowledge my grandmother passed down to me that at the time was not fully valued, and now could not be attached a dollar sign.

As I was reflecting on what she left behind I began thinking of what it meant to receive some sort of inheritance. I then ran across this

He has given us a new birth  into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead and into an inheritance that is imperishable, uncorrupted, and unfading, kept in heaven for you. (1 Peter 1:3-4)

As much as I valued what my grandmother has left for us, I realized that it will not last forever. Knowledge will be forgotten, items will break and ultimately things will lose value. However one thing she instilled in me was the importance of faith.

See God has given an inheritance as well. For those who know Him they will received something that will not destroyed and is being guarded. Unlike anything we have received in this life, God has a far better gift that will be given to those who have trusted in the life and work of Jesus.

I remember seeing people who have lost loved ones respond when they realize they were life something. It never quite eased they pain they currently felt BUT it helped them connect with the person one last time. It was like anchoring a memory that was in danger of slipping away. It help provide comfort in a time of stress.

True disciples of Jesus can rejoice that although life has challenges our anchor is planted in the fact that God as something far better for us down the road.  We live this life in preparation for things to come. How we live is in direct response to what we believe about God and what He has done for us.

What has been left for you that you cherish? How long will it last?
Do you hold on to what God has given and promised even tighter?

While trials may cause temporary grief, they should not diminish that deep, abiding joy which is rooted in one’s living hope in Christ Jesus.

 

In memory of Edith Hicks Adams, a wonderful mother, awesome grandmother and a faithful woman of God. She is now home with her Savior. 

I'd love to read your thoughts

