Youthful Heart


Have you ever had one of those moments that impacted you in a powerful way? As the moment is happening you realize this has the potential to change a lot of things if not everything.

Tonight I had one of those moments. While hosting several students for a light snack we discussed some heavy issues. I expected the personal stories, I expected the laughter, I even expected the pain. However what I failed to dwell on in my pre-event run through was their desire to know more so that they can live a more complete life.

We used to have a saying years ago when I was pastoring a church

When you know better, you do better

(Pardon, the incorrect use of English you grammar hounds) 🙂

The idea here was that once you learned what is right you should then do what is right. These students so desperately wanted to know more. They wanted to know more about themselves, their culture, other people and the different views that can develop. WHY?

So  that they can live in harmony with people. SO that they can fulfill Jesus’ words in John 13:35

By this ALL people will know you are my disciples, if you LOVE one another

I knew they cared. I knew they wanted things to change. I did not fully grasp what that desire looked like until tonight when I heard their hearts.

It amazes me how once people get older they can get so stuck in their ways. We stop wanting to hear someone else’s story. We start believing that we have it all figured out. We fail to appreciate what others have to offer.

These young people have that youthful desire to grow. I am praying that they continue learning so that they can continue truly living a life that matters. I pray I can join them in their journey.

I'd love to read your thoughts

