Buckle your seat belts…


Well hello everyone,

You may wonder why I haven’t written as much lately… (Or you can assume I am just lazy and not think a second thought), BUT lets say for a moment you wondered what happen  to that guy trying to post more regularly? WELL… (Please read the title)

BUCKLE UP!!!! Since my last blog life has gotten real interesting… SO deep breath here we go (catching you up now)

May 11 was my Graduation from Seminary with my Master of Divinity. With that I am looking to return back to the Lead Pastor role. NOW we have been making contacts and putting out resumes (like many of my colleagues) since January and (wait for it) haven’t heard one word back…  (disclaimer – I have had great conversations with some people about church planting (starting a church from scratch) and we have not forgotten about those.)

Since May 1st we have been without a job as my internship ended. Now you may say – why didn’t you get another job while waiting to hear back from a Church… AND I would say,

Great question, the reason we didn’t get jobs is because we had a few things to consider (1) that we would be moving soon that where ever we worked would not be for more than two months (2) it may take that long to find a job and get substantial  income flowing in (3) we had some money that we could live on BUT really rather not burn through it all. (4) we would really both need to work and that wasn’t going to work out here in Florida

After graduation I had three churches (two that seem to fall out of the sky) “approach” me and began talking about the possibilities of being their pastor which brought about the dilemma.

With us looking to find another place to live, prayerfully sooner rather than later (1) it would be a challenge to move as I really don’t want to put my family (especially my 4 month old) through two moves within a matter of months, (2) the money we would pay to move would almost (if not exactly) be the same amount as paying to stay where we are a bit longer. (To be honest this is something I am still working out).

So we will talk with these churches and see where the Lord leads us… (OH but it’s not over)

This past week (This past Wednesday in fact 5/22) my wife had her gallbladder removed. When the surgery was over I was told by the doctor everything went well, except for my wife having a hard time waking up from the anesthesia. Well once we got home things got worst. She was having trouble breathing, in lots of pain and in fact we didn’t sleep that night (maybe three hours). The next day the surgeon and told my wife “Your surgery was a bit difficult, as I couldn’t find your gallbladder” Needless to say we became furious. A flood a questions engulfed us as we realized if we had known this we wouldn’t have left the hospital so soon… So she now has new medication and if things don’t get better within a few days they will admit her in the hospital. (FUN TIMES)

SO now I really don’t want to think of moving right now…. OH and let’s not forget my daughter. She has her four-month shots coming up (it will be two days after my wife’s surgery).

*Phew* ok now that we are on the same page about life (I think I captured the big picture things), let me tell you how we are handling ALL of this…

Psalms 37:23-25

23 The steps of a righteous” man are established by the Lord
when he delights in his way;
24 though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong,
for the Lord upholds his hand.
25 I have been young, and now am old,
yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken
or his children begging for bread.

David writes this as he has confidence in a couple of things (1) that God establishes and protects the righteous (2) that God provides for their basic needs.

It is with words such as these we can hold our head high and make decisions that we think will honor God because GOD always keeps his promises. Therefore we have confidence that we will be provided and we are using wisdom with every choice we make.

Prayerfully by the end of June we will have a firm understanding if I will be taking another church OR looking for work somewhere else, either way I am confident that not only is God in control BUT He is working everything out according to His plan.

6 thoughts on “Buckle your seat belts…

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing problems with your website. It appears like some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a issue with my web browser because I’ve
    had this happen before. Appreciate it

    1. I have not heard this problem before… I am sorry you had trouble with the site. I hope you are able to come back and it would work properly for you. Thank for stopping by and trying though.

  2. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s
    a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to
    create your theme? Excellent work!

I'd love to read your thoughts

