WATCH OUT- New Parents


We can officially say now that next month we will be holding our baby girl. I am very excited about this!

However the strangest thing I have had to deal with is the amount of negative conversation surrounding my daughter before she is born. Now let me explain what I mean by negative conversation. People often tend to want to tell you the worst stories they have when you tell them you are about do something they have done? So since every knows we are having a child I have heard all sorts of stories about child-birth and raising kids.

Many of these stories have been rather interesting because they have been short of a Stephen King novel. In fact after I shake off terror that is on my face I then try to think why did they tell me that story again and I can’t seem to find the reason. One person may try to “help” by saying that people do this in order to prepare new parents for the harsh reality of raising a new-born. Nonetheless how you say things is truly important.

The taste that can be left in the mouths of new parents is that their children will be the worst decision they ever made.

The truth is that although life will change in a NUMBER of ways life is still very AWESOME! We need to spend more times talking about the pleasant changes that will occur. Now I am not saying that will ignore or be in denial about the challenges of raising children. BUT I am saying that instead of just running of the list of complaints that one can have because of a “crying, pooping” kid we should think of all the joy that child has brought us and share those truths with others!

Now I am not always perfect at this BUT Ephesians 4:29 tells us to

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.”

I really want to be mindful of what I share with people who when they walk away from me they feel  more encouraged by what I said. I am not perfect in this area. When it comes to the journey of our pregnancy we have been able to be honest with each other about how we feel each step of the way and every time we have walked away feel prepared to do this together.

The reality is that at one point my wife and I didn’t know if we were going to be able to have our own children so we are grateful for this moment in our lives! There are people who are able to experience what other complain about.

Be mindful of what(and more importantly how) you say toward others for you may only have a small understanding of how large of an impact it has on their life!

I'd love to read your thoughts

