At some point the dust does settle…


If you have been following along the last few post then you know that we have been through several challenges since our move to the lovely state of Florida. I won’t lie and say that it was easy to endure… Because it wasn’t. However after every destructive event the dust does settle and you are able to see again.

The interesting thing about challenges/tragedies/stressful moments is that during them it is hard to see your way. In fact several times my wife and I had discussions about purpose and reason. Not that we doubted or lost sight but rather to reaffirm where we were mentally and emotionally.

Throughout this time I came across the passage and I would love to share it

Proverbs 4:20-27

My son, pay attention to my words;
listen closely to my sayings.
21 Don’t lose sight of them;
keep them within your heart.
22 For they are life to those who find them,
and health to one’s whole body.
23 Guard your heart above all else,
for it is the source of life.
24 Don’t let your mouth speak dishonestly,
and don’t let your lips talk deviously.
25 Let your eyes look forward;
fix your gaze straight ahead.
26 Carefully consider the path for your feet,
and all your ways will be established.
27 Don’t turn to the right or to the left;
keep your feet away from evil.

There were/are many times when anything can happen and I find myself getting overwhelmed and making a decision based on my emotional reality rather than the timeless truth. By timeless truth I mean the reality that has and will occurred outside of this moment. See for me the moment of stress now is the greatest influence of emotionally lead behavior. However I need to find myself realizing what will always be true even when this moment passes.

This scripture really reminds me the seeking wisdom and staying connected to it (ultimately God’s words/ways) truly keep me focused.  That even though I may want to act or respond a certain way, I need to be mindful of the evil intentions I have. Eventually the dust does settle but instead of listening to the horrible sounds that are taking place while the dust is blurring my vision, I can remember the words that God has spoken and allow those to guide my feet even when I can’t see.

With that, Florida has become our new home and although there have been challenges from day one of being here, I understand exactly why God has me here and that is what will guide my decision. Although my mind and emotional may be strained, God’s word will always prove to be a timeless truth guiding me exactly where I need to go…

If the journey is led by a proven expert then how does it look for the 1st timer to question His every move. Although I am guilty of this myself I must remember that He knows best and will not lead me astray.

I'd love to read your thoughts

