Something in the Trees….


Have you ever had something that grabbed your attention?

I found myself, preparing for my usual Wednesday night church meeting. I was going to meet with the church leaders before and teach afterwards. In the middle or reviewing my notes/lesson I can remember hearing something outside the building that grabbed my attention.

I walked outside and I could hear birds chirping in the trees… Now you may say that’s not “special”. I mean birds are typically in trees and always make a sound. Yet this was SO intriguing. I couldn’t see any birds. I couldn’t see  anything except trees swaying as the wind blew. However I heard them. Chirping to one another. For that moment as I looked out across creation I stopped to admire the handy work of God. “Look at this” I said. I know something was in trees but I just couldn’t see it. Something complex, something vital and full of life, but at that moment hidden from my eyes.

It made me think…. How often do my eyes not have the full view in sight? Whether or not I can see it doesn’t change a thing. God is still in control, and still working.

I never did see those birds but I have no don’t in my mind that God provides for them. Will he not for me? What God creates He maintains.

Psalms 8:3-4
When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,
what is man that you are mindful of him,
and the son of man that you care for him?

For that moment I truly stopped and admired God’s creation. When is the last time we stopped to admire what God has done? or even is doing?

Psalms 19:1-2
The heavens declare the glory of God,
and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.
Day to day pours out speech,
and night to night reveals knowledge.

I'd love to read your thoughts

