Let me explain…


In the short amount of years that I have lived on this Earth there are many things that remain consistent. The sun always rises, and always sets. People are born, and people pass away. Throughout the course of our lives, no matter what age we are, people may find that at one point or another they have tried rationalizing something they have done/said.

When kids do something wrong, when we are caught in a lie, when we make a really silly choice and it comes back to bite us pretty hard. We sometimes even rationalize things when people disagree with us.

The Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines rationalize as providing plausible but untrue reasons for conduct. To put simply something is said that seems worthy of being true but may not be. The most dangerous thing we do is rationalize things to ourselves. We began to believe we value things we don’t, or that we are doing things for reasons that aren’t really true.

Proverbs 16:2 says
All a person’s ways seem right in his own opinion,
but the Lord evaluates the motives.

We can tell ourselves a number of reasons that we want to believe are true, and we will certainly tell others what we want them to hear, all in the name of being right, feeling right, avoiding criticism or even avoiding the truth.

The reality is that our motives are what need to be viewed and weighted. I am glad that although I do what I believe/think is right that God truly knows my heart/motives and that His ways are higher than mine. Often times I will try to rationalize or justify something BUT the reality is I’m not as hot as I think I am (But please don’t tell me 😉 ).

When is the last time you have accurately taken an account of your life and motives? When is the last time you have truly viewed yourself and the things you do (not the things you think you do) and when is the last time you found yourself looking at your excuses for what they really are?

 

 

I'd love to read your thoughts

