Fools say “what”?


Have you ever played that game where you would say… Loser say “what”… and the person would say “what”? and you would laugh and say I guess you’re a loser. We used all sorts of words in place of loser and we thought is was funny. I guess what made it great was the person who we would “prank” clearly didn’t hear what we said. Sometimes they did hear and just didn’t think quick enough and OOPS gotcha!

Well now I think back and that wasn’t the best use of my time (sorry anyone I got with that… 🙂 ) but even worse I have been the fool a time or two myself. I have spoken to quick or I have misspoken, or even said something without fully understanding what I was talking about.

The issue usually falls within the area of me thinking that I have learned enough at the stage in which I am currently in. I know there have been times where I have said I am just done with this, as I spoke about whatever situation I found myself in. What I was really saying is that God has nothing left to teach me in this stage of my life… YIKES!!!!!!

Proverbs tells us that the wise hear and increase in their learning, and that fools despise wisdom and instruction.  Well if I constantly saying “what?” and not in reference to seeking truth, but rather as a rejection of it (I’m sure you’ve encountered the sarcastic .. say what?) or if I constantly think I am better off where I am rather than learning where I need to be… then honestly I am a fool.

If I for one second think that I can navigate through life without being intimate with the one who gave me life… then I am a fool. In fact The reason that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of both knowledge and wisdom, as proverbs informs us, is that the moral life begins with reverence and humility before the Maker and Redeemer.

Well I don’t know about you but I have been a fool, or acted foolish more times than I care to remember… This time I want to seek knowledge, instruction in righteousness and guidance from God, who has this whole life thing figured out…

If fools say “what” then the wise must seek God first, learn from  Him (listening to God), and apply His every word…

Proverbs 1:2-7
To know wisdom and instruction,
to understand words of insight,
3 to receive instruction in wise dealing,
in righteousness, justice, and equity;
4 to give prudence to the simple,
knowledge and discretion to the youth—
5 Let the wise hear and increase in learning,
and the one who understands obtain guidance,
6 to understand a proverb and a saying,
the words of the wise and their riddles.
7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge;
fools despise wisdom and instruction.

I'd love to read your thoughts

