Tough Decisions…


I remember being in high school, and I had this opportunity to do this internship at an Independent African American film company. I can’t remember how or why I got this chance but I had it. It was in Harlem, NY and I would “learn” a lot. However at the time of this offer I was working at a Non-Profit Organization (Donorschoose) and enjoying every minute of it… So here was the problem, I couldn’t be in two places at one time. (A shame really that we haven’t figured that out yet 😉 ).

Therefore I would have to pick one. This was a tough decision for me. I know that people had really helped me get this opportunity to work for the film company BUT I really wanted to stay with the non-profit. Then I remember talking to the VP of the high school. He said to me, “just make a choice”. MIND BLOWING! I was like really? He said when you make the choice that your heart wants, things will be easier from this point on.

That was great advice. I was stressed.

Now I know that you and I have much more demanding decisions to make and some even involve the welfare of other people. Some of those decisions leave you  sleepless, and without eating. Your mind races and you can’t seem to think of anything else. You are completely consumed and that is understandable.

Here is something that I learned…

Jeremiah 17:9
The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?

I would love to leave things up to me… But the truth is I am emotional and irrational at times and my heart is very selfish.

However if I leave the decisions up to God, meaning I make the best choice that would bring Glory to His name, then I take myself out of the equation and allow Him to order my footsteps.

I guess what I am saying is that sometimes life hands you lemons . Why not thank God for them, allow Him to make the best lemonade possible, and then, serve someone a nice refreshing drink with what you have been blessed with. When you let God direct your life, and guide your heart you truly make even the most sour moments the sweetest part of your journey including adding a little sugar to someone else’s life as well.

Psalms 119:133-135
Make my steps steady through Your promise;
don’t let any sin dominate me.
Redeem me from human oppression,
and I will keep Your precepts.
Show favor to Your servant,
and teach me Your statutes.

I'd love to read your thoughts

