DO AS I SAY, NOT AS I DO!


DO AS I SAY, NOT AS I DO!

Have you ever heard that? Working with a number of families over the years as awarded me with the priceless moments in which I have heard parents scream this to their children. In fact this phrase doesn’t stop there. I have seen people use the idea this statement communicates in peer pressure situations.

The ideology behind this type of phrase is simply do not watch my life but listen to me anyway. Would that work in other arenas of life? What if a person who was out of shape decided to give you advice on living healthy, would you take it? Or what about if a person who is learning to drive, can they be taught by a person that has never driven before? Rather if the person teaching as bad habits while driving wouldn’t those be learned even if the phrase “do as I say, not as I do” is spoken?

Well whether if you have heard someone say that phrase I am sure you are familiar with the message it communicates. You may have even communicated this or something similar. Let me ask a question… Has that ever really worked?  I mean has it really left a positive ever-lasting impression on the person to whom you’ve said that to?

For most people in the short and long-term, this mind-set, and teaching method doesn’t work by any means. However when it comes to impacting lives it does leave an impression, a negative one. However the Bible gives us great insight on how we can impact people in the most positive way ever.

This is by living out what God declares for us. In fact we are called to live different from the world so that we can be a light to the world.

Philippians 2:14-15
Do all things without grumbling or disputing, 15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world

Ephesians 5:1-2
Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. 2 And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Here’s the idea… Hypocrisy is out…. Sincerity & Truthfulness are in…

No longer allow people to listen to your voice unless you plan on letting them view your life as proof that it works…

I'd love to read your thoughts

